Unlimited access >

Naming thread #3248204

Okie guys. I’m going to a little local show in about a month with my current project lease, and I need a show name for him!

He’s a 17hh OTTB warhorse (raced until he was 9!!!) that I’ve been restarting for the last 5 months or so. Barn name is Syd. Tall, gray, and a bit dorky. A neck 9 miles long and has the turn radius of a cruise ship to match. Always ready to greet you at the gate, follows you around like a literal puppy dog and begs for treats as much as one too. He has a lovely work ethic and will go from green, distracted thoroughbred that feels one strong breeze away from an explosion to ultra-focused professional as soon as you start giving him something to do - my trainer and I joke that he’d be the kid who raises their hand at the end of class and says “Hey teacher, weren’t you going to collect our homework assignment!?”. A real goody-two-shoes type.

He’s not particularly brave, but he IS curious - sort of like the kid at a pool party who really wants to do a cannonball off the diving board with all the other kids, but is too nervous to commit and actually do it and so ends up scooting out to the edge on their rear end before just sorta plopping into the water :joy: Sort of a Hufflepuff who wishes he were a Gryffindor. Needless to say, there has been lots of hand-holding with this guy to build his confidence, bless him.

It’s just a local show, and I try not to take myself too seriously so anything from the trendy one word “verb” names to “joke” names are all welcome!

Ready. Set. Go!!!

What is his JC name?

2 Likes

Soaring Cid

Intrepid Syd, a little play on his size and turn radius, like a battleship

1 Like

Why do I like Cannonball now that you mentioned it? :rofl: In two perspectives:

• Committed per your goody two shoes comments
  • Can’t rewind a cannonball per your steering comment
1 Like

Grey, long-necked, goofy …
Goose
Gander

Goose breeds:
Barnacle
Magellan
Orinoco

Breeds of goose

1 Like