National Therapeutic Riding Certification? Instructors please come in

Hi everyone

I’m seriously considering taking my certification to become a therapeutic riding instructor. I have a facility very close to me where I currently volunteer and they offer the NTHRA (?) cert twice a year.

Just wondering about experiences - finding employment, part or full time… I don’t expect to make much money but wanted to know about those of you who do manage to do this as a career… would love to hear from you!

Many thanks!

Hi TexasEventer -
I’d be happy to answer any of your questions. I am a NARHA certified instructor practicing in North Carolina. PM me - lets chat!

You’ve probably checked into it enough to find out that the process of getting certified is fairly lengthy, and requires doing the workshop, having a certain number of supervised teaching hours, and then doing the onsite certification – an involved process that takes some real commitment. If you don’t have an existing relationship with a program, and/or a promise of a job ahead of you, it’s going to be really hard to get in all the stuff you need to do, and then keep up your certification. You have to teach some number of hours each year (sorry I’m so vague on all of this, they keep changing it) to keep your certification up, which means you need to have a plan or all your hard work will go to waste!