Unlimited access >

Need a jump girth for sensitive type

Sensitive mare has declared Total Saddle Fit synthetic girth to be Total No Go - it digs in along the back edge. I tried a friends string girth and that was also a hard no. She did like a Classic Equine Feather Flex but they’re hard to find in a 54”

Suggestions?

Must have elastic both ends, easy to hose clean (not leather or synthetic fleece), and shaped is good but “anatomical” maybe (?) not ok. Oh and super cushy soft! I’m ok with getting sheepskin liners if needed but ideally wouldn’t.

Mine didn’t like TSF either. At all.

You need a long girth (assuming so since you mentioned 54) ? Every one of my horses has gone well in this girth but it doesn’t come in long options:

I have this long girth for one of my geldings, no complaints and meets all your requirements:
https://www.doversaddlery.com/profchoice-ventech-girth/p/X1-02087/

It comes in a fancier contour option but I have no experience with it:
https://www.doversaddlery.com/pc-ventech-contoured-jump-grth/p/X1-02691/

1 Like

Seconding Professional’s Choice Ventech SMX. Checks all your boxes and is approved by my thin-skinned, sensitive TB mare. Neoprene comes off so you can hose it easily after a ride.

I will say she does sweat more easily as it does trap some heat, but I haven’t noticed her uncomfortable at all like she is with many other girths.

Also using the Prof Choice girth on a sensitive horse. He is quick to tell me if something is not right and he has a thin coat. Love that I can strip the velcro and hose off the neoprene.

Glad I asked! I was eyeing the VenTECH girths and I’ll give them a try now. Thanks all!

(now, do they sell replacement liners, and maybe even sheepskin ones…?)

This girth is a game changer.

I’ve got the contoured Professionals Choice VenTECH girth as my horse has a forward girth groove. He loves this one. It’s very thin and flexible as the outer shell is TPU, not leather.