Unlimited access >

Need new stirrup leathers

I am posting on Off Course because this is not discipline specific.

I had an embarrassing equipment failure yesterday while warming up for the halfbred Connemara division at the Upperville Horse show, my stirrup leather broke (were it passes through the stirrup bars) and dropped through the ground.

I was able to salvage the day by just using the next shorter hole, and shortening the other side by one hole. I have been using these stirrup leathers for at least 15 years, maybe more like 20, so they do not owe me anything.

So I am looking for specific recommendations. I have always used “plain” leathers, and never had much problem with stretching, but the idea of nylon lined leathers appeals to me.

I have looked at the web sites for SmartPak, Dover, and Bit of Britain (I would love to support Bit of Britain even though it is under new ownership, but the web site just doesn’t give enough information to make a selection). So far, the one that looks good is the Passier Nylon Lined Stirrup Leathers
https://www.smartpakequine.com/pt/passier-nylon-lined-stirrup-leathers-6466

Does anyone have any experience with these leathers? or recommendations for other specific leathers, or other web sites or vendors to look at?

I do not mind paying for quality and durability, but would prefer not to spend over $100.

I recently had to pick up new leathers too. Check out riding warehouse. I went with the pro trainer ones because they are nylon lined and have half holes - on backorder currently though so I am still waiting.

I’ve had four different makes of lined leathers over the last two decades or so.

Top marks to Beval (which isn’t made any longer, sadly) and Prestige. Those held up well, didn’t stretch, and wore nicely.

Hated the SmartPak brand ones I had on my dressage saddle for a while. They were bulky and squeaky and the leather quality wasn’t great.