Unlimited access >

Nervous rider help

So, even when I started riding, I was always cautious. That is just my temperament (took forever for me to let my dad take the training wheels off my bike :wink: ). Unfortunately I broke my arm one of the first times I ever jumped, converting my caution to nervousness.

I absolutely love this sport, and Iā€™m sure a huge reason Iā€™ve stuck with it for so long is that it is SO rewarding to overcome fears in every lesson. Because trust me, I have to, in EVERY lesson.

I did the junior hunters in high school on a super safe horse with no incident. When I went to college, I sold all of my horses and rode mainly school/lease horses for a few years. Because of limited availability in horses, I rarely jumped higher than 2ā€™3" or 2ā€™6", this led me to have concerns about fences of any height. A trainer can tell me to canter a small gait and I immediately get sick with worry. Of course, once I do it, I feel amazing and want to do more! It just is tough when I first get going.

I finally purchased another horse towards the end of college. Sheā€™s a red mareā€¦ and she is seriously the most bomb proof hunter 99.9% of the time. In many ways I feel more comfortable on her than I have on any other horse. She will never stop at a fence and she never blinks at a chip or deep distance.

However, being a mare, it probably isnā€™t surprising to most of you that the .1% of the time that she isnā€™t a saint, she is pretty nasty. She has a wicked buck in her and there are days where you can just tell she is in a mood. Unfortunately with my already timid personality, if I think sheā€™s the least bit off, I get reallllly nervous, which doesnā€™t help her at all. Her favorite ride is the get off my back and leave me alone type. So when I get nervous and start slamming my seat down, holding her face, or locking my leg forward in anticipation, even if she isnā€™t having a bad day, she gets ticked off (canā€™t blame her!).