Unlimited access >

New car or new horse?

I have recently been gifted some money to put towards either a new car or a horse of my own. I have been riding for 7yrs in many of the major disciplines and am currently riding hunter jumper with a trainer. I have leased 2 horses prior so experience is not the issue for me but rather cost. I’ve found a nice green broke APHA colt (will be gelded soon) who will suit my needs for a hunter jumper/trail horse and is well within my price range with some room for training costs if need be. Boarding however is rather ridiculous in my area for a well maintained, English facility (my trainer does not board atm), with most being 450-800+. I currently work part time at Starbucks as I’m a student and while my parents will help cover some of the costs I worry about being able to afford the horse, especially in the event of an accident. I have savings + I know they would pitch in but I do not want my horse to become their finical responsibility. On the other hand, I currently own a nice, base model Altima and would love to purchase a new or slightly used Full loaded mustang to zip around in (Cars are my other passion in addition to horses). The car market sucks but if I save for the rest of the year I should be able to afford a very nice car with low mileage on a small monthly payment, less than or equivalent to 1/2 of boarding costs in my area. While the car is more expensive upfront, I can do most of the repairs myself & my parents pay for my insurance. With the car I’ll be able to continue riding & showing but if I buy the horse I would likely be unable to further my car hobby. I would absolutely love to own a horse, it’s been my dream for ages, but is it the best choice over a new car? I don’t want to miss out on either of the things I love and certainly do not want to regret my decision/be financially stressed.

Thank you in advance!