Unlimited access >

New Hunter Eq Rider - Critiques and Advice? (Video)

Hello! I’m a brand new hunter rider (my background is mostly Western and Dressage), but I’m looking to join my college’s IHSA team in the fall so I’m trying to learn as much as I can. I had one lesson with the team trainer but I won’t be able to meet with her again for a while so I was hoping you guys could give me some pointers and things to work on.

Bear in mind that I am NEW to this style of riding and this is my first week even attempting two-point, so I’m sure there’s lots to critique but I’d appreciate it if you could keep it constructive.

Here’s the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEt5f9RbBfM
Thanks!

Cute pair!

One thing I noticed right off the bat is that you are sitting down on your horse’s back too soon after the cavaletti - this will get easier on its own once you’ve developed some core strength but I think the easiest way to fix this is to think of holding your two point a couple of strides after the jump. Once you’ve landed and cantered off come back to your full seat with your hip angle still closed instead of opening up your hip angle and sitting down hard. It’s sitting back vs. sitting down.

When you are posting the trot it looks like you are getting a little behind the motion and are posting up instead of forward. See if it helps when you keep your hip angle closed a bit more.

When I get behind the motion it’s usually because I’m gripping with the tops of my legs and my calves aren’t on. I would do as much work without stirrups as you can possibly stand until you can keep your calf on consistently. I’m just getting back into shape after an unintentional break from riding and am having the same issue.