New Stallion. . .How do I handle this?

As a trainer, I have ridden many stallions, that being said, I have never had a stallion live at our facility. This stallion who is being imported by a client for me to ride and to breed, is a son of Balou De Rouet and has impeccable manners, he currently goes out individually, but is able to touch noses with the geldings in the paddock next to his. I have only seen him once, but he was fantastic when I rode him with all types of horses in the ring. Obviously, he will be stabled away from mares, and will have his own turnout, but I am more curious about the breeding. I don’t expect him to be incredibly busy with collections the first few years, as he is young and only doing a few shows, but once he (hopefully) gets reasonably popular, I’m not sure what to expect.
I would appreciate any and all advice!!!

I rode and bred my stallion… But he was a Connemara and rather sane :wink: Had no issues at all, but we also were not upper level.

You’ll just have to see how it goes. Our stallions are stabled with mares and not isolated from them. We’ve taught them there is a time for breeding and only that time. They have to show and warm up with mares in the arena.

But…that being said, it can be a strain on them during breeding season. If you can show more off breeding season that is best. Some have to limit bookings or resort to frozen.

Lots of massages and chiro is good too. They can twist themselves good on the phantom.

And some of them end up being gelded.

Lets hope you have no problems and best of luck!

Second what Majestic said - make it very clear which job they are doing. I owned two stallions - both were absolute sweethearts.