Unlimited access >

New to H/J Please help!

Hi!

I have always wanted to ride and show Hunter/Jumper but when I entered college the English team riders were intimidating and their feedback on their lesson barn was terrifying. I couldn’t understand why they would take lessons there when almost all of them hated doing so. I joined the Western team instead, but went to the English shows to audit and get a feel for their side of the sport. I am black, so I still worry about how people are going to “react” I guess. Luckily all the judges I worked with over my time were surprised at first but quickly warmed up to me and gave me some advice while judings and in between classes.

Since then I have been riding Western and when I moved barns I started learning Dressage as well. I have had a few English lessons, and now I am at a primarily English based school. I have high hopes here because most of the people I have met so far have been really nice.

What I really need to know is if someone could explain the difference between the Hunter ring judging standards and the Jumper ring judging standards. I know equitation is very important, but outside of that I am clueless. I don’t have my own horse yet, but I am chomping at the bit (ha horse pun!) to find my first horse. My hopes are to compete Western Pleasure, H or J (once I figure out the differences) and maybe some eventing once I get brave riding outside. :slight_smile:

I really want an OTTB, and if anyone has any recommendations on a trainer that they have used to restart a TB on the East Coast please let me know. I have the CANTER website as my homepage lol :smiley: I have some barns in mind, but I always appreciate help. PA/MD/NJ area would be preferred, because my home is in South Jersey.

I appreciate any help you can give me! Thank you kindly :smiley: