Unlimited access >

New to Showing, Arabian horse show standards for classes

Hi, I am new to showing and have an Arabian gelding I would like to compete with at local shows (Pony Club, 4H, Open Shows). What tack/attire will I need to compete? Class standards?
Thanks for any assistance you may be able to provide me.

What do you ride? Huntseat, saddleseat, western?

The very best way is to go to a show and just watch, ask some questions, pick up a prize list. Rules/standards vary from region to region, out west it’s more towards QH standards, back east more H/J open show based. But get can be anything and they usually have something on the prize list saying " this show is operated under the rules of the xxxxxxx association".

Dont know what you show in or what seat you ride so can’t help with specifics, even if we did, these things differ region to region so the very best thing is to go watch. And join whatever association(s) put on the show(s), they’ll provide a rule book and class specifications to guide you. Usually more accurate then Internet generalities that may or may not apply to your area or the hosting organizations standards and rules.

Thank you for the advice! I will keep researching to find out what is available in my area.

I am looking into all riding disciplines, hunt and saddle seat, western classes, jumping, and dressage. I have a dressage saddle but do not have a hunt seat, saddle seat, jumping saddle, or western show saddle or halter.
I only have field boots, no dress boots and would need all of the attire for all disciplines.

The open shows I’ve attended do not have attire restrictions and you can use training tack. Check with your local Arabian club to see if they sponsor any open shows.

Q:What do I need to compete in the Arabian ring?
A: A quarter horse!