Unlimited access >

New To Western, Silly Question

This is a silly question, but I have a stoic horse and he would make the best of it even if he were uncomfortable.

How do you tell if the cinch is too tight? What is the safe, comfortable medium for the horse? Not too loose, not too tight?
Sheilah

Only once have I seen someone make a cinch too tight. I tighten mine as much as I can, then again after 10 min in the saddle. The chance of a saddle slipping from a loose cinch and the result, to me, is much greater and worse than the consequence of making a cinch too tight --I personally think it would be nearly impossible to compress a horse with a cinch to the point of injury.

The single exception occurred when I was a college student working at the local stable. A football player came for riding lessons. The staff member said to make the cinch as tight as possible. Mistake. The horse lay down in his stall --couldn’t catch his breath, I guess.

1 Like

Good to know! I am a weenie when it comes to the idea of the saddle slipping.
Sheilah

If the saddle fits well and you’re a balanced rider the cinch shouldn’t have to be so tight it cuts the horse in two. When I first saddle up before a ride the cinch is pretty snug because I know it will loosen a little as the saddle settles in. I tighten it in stages, the last time just before I put the headstall on. I don’t tighten it again unless I have to dismount and the saddle is so loose it slides when I get off. The cinch is always about an inch looser after a ride, but the saddle doesn’t slip. As a general rule of thumb, if the saddle is slipping while you’re riding the cinch needs to be tightened.

1 Like

Western or English, it doesn’t matter, too tight is too tight. You can absolutely injure a horse with a too-tight cinch/girth. You can bruise muscles, you can even cause tears in those muscles.

If you can’t slip your hand under the girth, it’s too tight.

4 Likes