Unlimited access >

New truck or suv for towing

My F150 is back in the shop again. This time it had a cylinder head temperature sensor go out and they need to take it apart to replace the sensor. If that is the problem and they diagnosed it correctly.

About the 3rd time it has been to the shop in the last year. It’s a 2013, but not used much except when I trailer some place.

I’m starting to think about getting another vehicle. I would like to replace the older car and the 99 Ford Ranger and get 1 vehicle. The F150 will be my main towing vehicle, but I do want a backup vehicle for towing.

A smaller truck would probably work. Maybe a used Toyota Tacoma? Or an SUV? The maximum weight I tow (bumper pull) is 5000 lbs. I rarely take 2 horses in the trailer, so usually under 4000 lbs.

Any vehicle suggestions? I have not looked at SUV’s before. Not real familiar with their towing capacity.

I’m no expert but it’s more about stopping power sometimes than towing weight rating. I have a GN 2+1 with DR I tow with a V10 F250 gasser. It is a wonderful set up but it’s just too much trailer for my current needs. Pre COVID I priced Tahoe’s, etc with the idea of moving to a BP. I was paralyzed by the sticker shock on SUVs I felt had enough wheelbase to be safe. Interested to see what others say.

4 Likes

There is no way in heck I would ever pull with anything under an F150 and I wouldn’t pull with a 150. Most, not all, are bread haulers. You want something with a solid rear axle and leaf springs. I once, back in the day, pulled with a 150. A 250 is way more solid. So in answer to your question, at the very least, replace your 150 with at least another 150. My current ride is a 3/4 ton Suburban 6300 pounds of long body towing weight. I have the long one so I think 121" wheel base. I usually haul one horse so about 4800 pounds but sometimes 2. Gas guzzler. My next will be a 3/4 ton truck.

1 Like