Unlimited access >

Newbie to horses

I am new to horses and I have decided to help out a local rescue to help gain some knowledge and give back at the same time. I will be mucking out the stalls, feeding and exercising the horses. I want to get a good pair of barn boots that I can use for cleaning and also riding. Not sure which ones would be best for this. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

What a great way to get started!

I have muck boots, your best bet is to go to a farm store and try different ones on. Everyone is so different.

Well, it depends on how much you want to spend, and the climate which you will be working. Many “horse people” use “paddock boots”. These are leather “short boots” with a heel. If you are going to be riding, it is essential that the boot you wear have a heel, as that will prevent the whole foot from slipping through the stirrup in an accident. You also want to avoid boots with a bulky sole, as they can cause your foot to get caught in the stirrup as well (I would avoid most “muck boots” for riding).

There are all sorts of paddock boots, from ones that are like athletic shoes like these, to standard ones like this (these are zippered, which is my preference, but they also come on lace version. Paddock boots also give a bit of ankle support, and their height helps keep dirt and bedding off your socks :slight_smile:

If you are dealing with mud and wet weather - I like “duck boots” for barn work. Plus they still have a bit of a heel so you can ride in them.

Good ol’ Cowboy boots work well too

Welcome to the world of horses! Most of us are fairly addicted :slight_smile: and its very nice of you to start out at a rescue.

Welcome to COTH! It is a great resource and a great place to ask questions and get knowledgeable answers.

Welcome to a lifelong addiction!
I applaud your efforts to give back too. The best way to learn is to work hard and ask lots of questions!