Unlimited access >

No-Sugar Treat Help!

My 6 year old gelding was recently diagnosed with mild laminitis. The vet thinks on a strict diet he should be sound again soon (thankfully so far he has been right and he is almost sound) so with his new diet means new hay (timothy/orchard mix), no grain (only platinum performance & chia seeds), and sadly, no treats. I have no experience with laminitic horses so any advice would be great BUT I really need help figuring out what treat recipes or brands would work for him! They would have to be NO sugar or very LOW sugar treats. And has anyone else had success on getting laminitic horses sound and rideable again?

Thanks in advance.

UPDATE: So far Keystone approves of the peppermint flavored Uckele Equi Treats and sugar free mints. Celery was a definite no lol.

Personally, I wouldn’t use Platinum Performance for metabolic horses. I believe it contains glucosamine, which can cause issues for metabolic horses. HorseTech makes High Point grass in both a flax based powder or alfalfa based pellet. Try the flax powder first, since that could replace the PP and chia and it’s a little cheaper. If it doesn’t work, then try the pellet. Chia tends to be more expensive than flax. My horses get Omega Horseshine, since that’s the only one they like.

I use TC Premium Grass Forage as a supplement carrier and treat. Same with Ontario Dehy Timothy Balance Cubes. Some use beet pulp, soaked rinsed and soaked again, but that didn’t work well for my metabolic horses. All of mine love the Timothy cubes as treats.

Look into Platinum Metabolic Support. It’s probably the single most useful supplement I’ve tried for my metabolic horses.