Unlimited access >

Non Equine Majors Useful for Careers in the Equine Industry

Hello!
I am new to the forum so bare with me. I have searched past threads but cannot find quite what I am looking for in terms of my situation.

I am a college freshman and am currently a Nursing major but am looking to change majors. I have ridden and shown all of my life and would really like to pursue a career in the horse industry. Although the idea of owning and operating my own jumper barn sounds appealing, I realize that in 20 years it may no longer be as fun as it once was. I also realize that it is a career that is hard to make a decent living at. So, I would like to pursue an office job that would still allow me to be in the industry, but will provide a more steady income. Working for a large show circuit, Equine Affaire, Smart Pak, or something similar really sounds appealing to me. Right now I am thinking a business-related major, that way I would be able to either pursue a career as an instructor and/or barn owner (I am hoping to be able to get some hands on experience through working student positions during summers) and/or an office job. I am looking into Accounting, Marketing or Business management. These majors would also allow for a non-equine related back up plan, which is a good security to have!

My question is, which of these majors do you think would give me the best chance of finding a decent career that would still allow me to be in the industry? Do you all have any other suggestions for majors or career options/ideas?
Thanks!

Animal science- as a major or a minor, agribusiness, business, marketing, communications.

I have an advertising degree, and also took a lot of psychology classes. Both of those fields blend well with horses and their people. It never hurts to know how to communicate well, and opens a lot of job opportunitites.