Unlimited access >

Online resources for learning showmanship

I have a young horse that I plan to start hauling to some small shows this summer to get used to seeing the sights. I thought showmanship might be a good introduction to competition since it’s in-hand. I have watched many showmanship rounds but have never done it and have no idea how to teach a horse to set up, pivot, etc. and don’t have easy access to anyone that can teach me. Are there any good online video resources for teaching showmanship basics? I’ve done some looking on YouTube but have not found anything that breaks it down enough.

I know I watched a lot of this guys video when I was learning. However, I also quickly discovered that I definitely needed an actual trainer to get hands on with me… I’m not good at learning by watching videos.

If these videos don’t help, might be worth messaging some people about virtual/zoom lessons.

I feel like Holly Hover has said in the past that she did virtual… but you’d have to ask.

I come from a hunter background, and now that I show Paints I’ve had to learn showmanship. It was completely foreign to me. And I also had a green horse, so we were both learning at the same time. Needless to say, I understand where you’re coming from.

There are some good sources online, both through the AQHA and a few YouTube videos. Here are just two examples:

If you don’t have a coach who’s nearby who can help, see if there’s a local 4H with a horse program. They do showmanship at their competitions and some of those kids are very knowledgeable. Also, when you do go to a show with your greenie, try approaching some of the other people in the showmanship classes and ask for some friendly tips. Most folks are happy to help out a fellow horse lover.

Remember your goal is to introduce your greenie to the hubbub of competition. Halter and showmanship classes are a wonderful way to start… just remember to have fun along the way!