Unlimited access >

Opinion Piece About American TBs in Eventing

Cross posted in Eventing. Bound to be controversial.

I started reading it, but considered it to be “tripe” quite quickly. Everyone has a right to an opinion, but that doesn’t mean that I have to agree with them. I can show ya pictures of poorly conformed horses of every breed. And the TB is still the ONLY breed that is subjected to the “severe” culling process called “racing”, as it has been for 400 years. With TBs, at least the culls are identified. In other breeds, the culls enter the breeding shed unidentified. It’s a free country, people are allowed to breed culls if they want to.

4 Likes

I already responded on the eventing forum.

TB racing definitely has its problems. But I get tired of the lectures from outsiders who don’t know enough to fully understand the issues or solutions, and just regurgitate others.

I have been saying for 5 years that the overall “sport quality” of the breed is increasing, not decreasing. Look at any sales catalog and I can pick out dozens of likely prospects.

As for aftercare, yeah I wish it was better. But what the author doesn’t know, is that there are many ethical owners and breeders who rehome their horses privately and quietly to knowledgeable riders. There are resellers who have excellent connections to get first pick of the sound, well bred OTTBs. If random state CANTER and crappy Facebook resellers are your only experience with available OTTBs…yes the pickings look slim. But that’s a very small (and poorly filtered) sample of TBs.

5 Likes

@EventerAJ and @NancyM I’m with you.

When the article came across my social media news feed, I couldn’t even get through it before my eyes started doing that twitching thing and my blood pressure started rising.