Unlimited access >

Owning a boarding/show barn lucrative??

I have been riding for 16 years. I have grown up competeing in jumpers, but have recently started a serious career with my OTTB in three day eventing under a wonderful trainer in Atlanta, GA. That said I am incredibly passionate about horses, and not just the showing side. Everything horse I love. I am constantly reading wanting to know more, learning, experiencing new situations, and so on. Plus add on my time learning from my 16 years of riding. With that being said I’m doing all the right things ensuring I have a secure future. I’m attending college and getting my degree in business management, essentially making sure I can have horses in my life. It’s sad, but true!

My question is though can you make money owning a boarding/ show barn? I have the idea of working in a field with my degree for roughly ten years, saving money, then pursuing my dreams. I also wanted to hire a great trainer who has been there done that, let them live on property and maybe bring their horse to sweeten the deal?? I personally want to train to a level I know I can, and then push them along to the other trainer.

I have also thought about getting my certificate in equine massage therapy/ chiropractic care to help with income. I know this is something in my life that will make me undoubtedly happy, but I don want to be in debt up to my eyeballs. So is it feasible to be comfortable and own a boarding/ show barn??

Sorry for long post, just want advice and opinions on this matter.

I don’t know that I have ever hear anyone call the horse business “lucrative,” but maybe your starting point would be to interview barn owners/managers about lessons learned.

All of the barn owners I know are lucky to break even. Many don’t.

You are smart though, in planning ahead and getting the business degree. You can start working on your business plan and assess the area you want to be in …

I wish you luck

9 Likes

No.