Unlimited access >

PAO (periacetabular osteotomy) any experiences?

It’s looking more and more likely that this is the next step for my garbage fire of a hip. Any horse people with experience or stories to share?

Here’s a page on it for those not familiar and curious:

https://www.hss.edu/conditions_Periacetabular-Osteotomy-PAO.asp

Hey @Simkie I have no PAO knowledge but I just saw your post in Off Topic that you had surgery yesterday. Did you have the PAO? How are you doing? Hope everything is going well —

Hey! No, Friday was something different. If we move forward with PAO, it’ll be sometime in the summer. Hope your hip is doing well! :grin:

Ah, wishing you a smooth recovery and hoping that down the road they are able to permanently resolve your hip issues. PAO sounds scary but it also sounds like a good option if that will solve your problems!

Hi @Simkie,
I’m sorry to hear about your situation.
I realize it has been a few months since your original posting and I’m wondering whether you ended up going ahead. I am 8 months post-operative PAO patient following a hip dysplasia diagnosis.
I found there wasn’t a whole lot of information on the Internet that I could find that helped “fill in the blanks” and extend what the Doctors told me to prepare for my surgery. So I thought I would write a short practical guide to help other patients going through the same thing.
I just published it last week on Amazon as a Kindle e-book - it is called “Hip Dysplasia and P.A.O. Surgery: My Experience and the Practical “Recovery Hacks” that Worked For Me”. What I am really looking for is some feedback to understand how useful it is to others in preparing for PAO and in the recovery process / how the book could be improved.
If you, or others reading this have scheduled surgery within the next few weeks, or had surgery within the last few weeks, I would love to gift you a copy in exchange for some feedback in the form of a short survey I’ve prepared.