Unlimited access >

Papers? Registration? Pedigree? Help!

So, I’m new to horse buying/ownership, and I have some rather stupid questions that google is not answering for me. Before you think I’m a complete idiot, please know that I do not own my horse (my parents do) and any registration/pedigree/papers etc did not matter at all at the time of purchase. The options were: buy the horse that I was leasing ASAP, or she gets shipped back to Canada and I likely never see her again. The sale contract was looked over by a lawyer, so everything is legit.

I still don’t care if she’s registered, if she’s a grade horse, if I can get her pedigree, or anything else for that matter. But I am curious and would like to know everything I possibly can about her.

What are “papers”? Does every horse automatically have them? Are they registration papers, purchase papers, a pedigree? I have no idea.

Basically, papers are a document, like your passport, that ID the horse, it’s birth date and pedigree. In most cases they are issued by a breed registry with proof of parentage and a fee.

The nice thing about papers is they are proof of ID, parentage and age.

That is the For Dummies version. It can be more complicated but that’s it in a nutshell.

4 Likes

“Papers” generally refers to breed registration documents, which typically include a basic physical description of the horse (color, sex, date of birth) the name of the breeder, the registration ID number, the horse’s immediate family members (sire, dam, dam sire) and a transfer of ownership section noting who has had possession of the horse since it was foaled. Usually, the breeder registers the horse, but it may be done later in life (at increased expense) if parentage can be verified. Breed associations have varying requirements, from parentage to performance testing, that must be met before papers will be issued.