Unlimited access >

Parelli Methods

So, I am fairly new to the horse world, I just got a beautiful American Paint foal. Trying to really familiarize myself with the horse world. I like to read up on horse news and whatnot. It seems that every time I pick something up, I read about the Parelli method. It seems to be every where, from success stories to tips, the Parelli name always seems to be mentioned.

I guess my question is, what is so special about the Parelli method? Does it have a significant change on the results of training? If so, what are those results? And are those results achieved only by Parelli?

I’m not trying to spark a debate here. Just trying to really get a grasp on what Parelli training is and why it matters, mainly for my own knowledge base. Would also love to hear about some first hand experiences. Thank you in advance for your time and responses!!

Spend some time in the archives and then you can more specifically target your questions.

G.

I would gently second Guilherme’s advice in lieu of giving my opinion as an answer to your question.

But, my unsolicited advice would be, congrats on the new horse, and the best thing you can do is find, and work with, a good local trainer.

You will find very few fans of Parelli here. Great marketing plan, substandard horsemanship.

I third/fourth the recommendation to read the archives.

A newbie and a foal is a lose lose scenario. Neither of you knows what you are doing. More important than any “method” you need boots on the ground to teach you the ropes before you get killed and/or your foal gets ruined.

You and your horse would be best served finding a competent trainer.

maybe there are some who have used parelli’s methods to make a functioning horse… but… I haven’t met one yet.

Thanks for all the feedback guys! I really appreciate it. I thought I had looked far enough through the archives, but I didn’t.

[QUOTE=m.james;7874729]