Unlimited access >

Part-Leasing with Another non-owning Lessee

I’m new to the part leasing thing and I’m trying to be fair, but need some advice from seasoned equestrians.

I part-lease a horse. The original part-leaser I was going in with fell through after the horse was already at the barn, neither of us own the horse, owner charged a lease fee of $800/6 months where I was to pay half and she was to pay half. Since she backed out, the barn owner, with the horse owner’s permission, agreed to keep him and use him in her lesson program. Her deal was I would pay half board and all expenses for shoeing, floating, and shots. I paid the owner my $400 for the sixth months, I am unaware of whether she paid the other $400 or not. The barn owner does not provide tack and the horse came only with his halter.

Though the barn owner let me borrow a saddle, it was a horrendous thing with no knee rolls that I couldn’t ride the horse’s spook in, so I recently bid on a saddle at an auction and got a great price for it, really worked out well. Out of curiosity I looked up the price it would go for new, and the jumping saddles start at $2,000 so I got quite a deal. I’ve cleaned and oiled it and have it looking pretty good for a used saddle.