Unlimited access >

pellet bedding

I’m new to using pellets rather than shavings. I must say I love the time savings I’m seeing. However I’m not sure about the maintenance of the stalls over time with the pellets. Advice please… and thank you!

I tried the pellet bedding. I couldn’t stand leaving it as pellets, because I prefer to use a fine-tine manure fork to sift out poop balls, and the pellets are too big to fall thru the tines. When I use a “regular” manure fork with wider tines, I end up sifting half my poop back into the stall.

I tried wetting them when I put them in the stall to get them to expand. Used a garden hose with a spray nozzle - pretty high water pressure. It took forever to get the pellets to absorb and expand. And a ton of water. Not fun in cold weather, or when we are on a well.

I went back to my bagged sawdust. Not shavings - sawdust. Sifts thru the fork perfectly and absorbs pee like a champ. Only downfall is the cost - ouch.