Person First Language

I browse these forums inconsistently, especially this one but after reading a few threads I wanted to make a suggestion. In a few threads a person is described as his/her disorder/health condition, such as an someone who suffered a stroke or an autistic child.

Working with various individuals on fieldworks (clinicals as I am an occupational therapy student) and a registered NARHA instructor, I just want you to think twice before writing a person as his/her disorder. I know it is quick and the internet, but it means a lot to other individuals by addressing them with person first language, as a person who had a stroke or a child with autism. The person is always placed before the disorder/health condition, etc.

Just some food for thought!

That has been brought up before and most adhere to it.:slight_smile:
It is good, as you did, to keep reminding people of the important difference between how we may see an autistic person, compared with a person with autism, or any other difference.:yes:

Most people tend to become careless in their manners of speech, so we also have to understand when they are not as PC about what they post, as we wish they were.:wink:

Please feel free to remind me if you catch me lapsing in that regard. Although I’m not picky about the semantics used when describing me and my health problems, I realize the significance of “putting the person first” is very important to others.

Just because I don’t care one way or another when people are talking about me doesn’t mean I should be a prat to people who do care, so please do remind me if I need it!

Maybe I can blame the fibrofog <whistles innocently>

Thank you.

I will go back to describing myself as the “Fat Chick Running Around the Yard in Her Nightgown”.

:winkgrin:

ROFL at the last post…hey, we could be twins!
BUT, I always have my boots on with the nightgown…makes for a much better fashion statement