Unlimited access >

Plasma Donation and Riding?

[INDENT]Hi! I am a college student who is working on a Veterinary Technology degree, and there is a plasma donation center here in town that was set up just this year. During the school year I ride about 2-3 times a week (depending on homework load) for a dressage trainer in the town over. I normally ride 1-3 horses per trip that vary from schoolmasters to babies with only a handful of rides on them. I might want to also mention that since I have been a hunter/jumper up until moving to a new town for college, I will jump some of her horses occasionally for marketability.[/INDENT]

[INDENT]I understand from research that donating plasma, if you are doing everything that you should be and if your body can take it, is a pretty simple procedure with minimal side effects for a person who does moderate exercising. But for those who are more of an “athlete” it can be detrimental to their performance. I just can’t decide where that line is between those two fitness levels. I’m definitely not ready for the Olympics, but I also don’t just go out on leisurely walks.[/INDENT]

[INDENT]What I want to know is if there is anyone out there who has experienced donating plasma, and if so, did you nothing any affects on your riding?[/INDENT]

[INDENT]Thank you for reading that long post… I hope to hear so feedback on this topic![/INDENT]:encouragement:

I don’t know about plasma, but I donated a pint of blood yesterday and rode today.
I am by no means an elite athlete! I don’t notice much besides some shortness of breath if I do some strenuous hill-climbing the next day or two. I think you’d be fine so long as you gave yourself a day and drank lots of fluids. I’m older, fifty-four, for what it’s worth, and keep in shape by walking and biking everywhere, as well as riding.

I never noticed any side effects at all the days, about three or four times a year, our school asked everyone to come to their blood drives.