Unlimited access >

Ponies in dressage?

Hi there! I’m about to bring home a 3yr old untouched 1/2 welsh stud (LOL). He’ll likely mature to around 14.2h. I’m curious - what is the market like for ponies in the dressage world? I’ve usually sold my prospects to eventers, but I’m curious about this market, as this guy looks like he could have some potential in the discipline. Of course we won’t know until he’s broke and going, but I have limited experience in the pure dressage discipline/ market, so would love some input! Pics of the little dude that’s coming home with me:

The market for ponies is larger than it used to be, but still quite small overall. There’s a limited number of people small enough, and they are (generally speaking) older amateurs. Some pony lines can be quite hot.

I know we have some people here who show welsh cobs, they might have more to say about it. As resale prospects, though, the market is small.

3 Likes

Ponies can show at every level at national shows (intro to GP). There is also a separate division called FEI Pony which is offered at some national shows, and at CDIs which is for children age 12-16 riding ponies age 6+ at 2nd level. Ponies are also eligible to compete in the FEI Children division, which is for children ages 12-14 showing horses or ponies age 6+ at 1st level. Ponies aren’t eligible to compete in other divisions at a CDI.

The pony market is small but real. Besides kids that want to do the FEI pony division (which there aren’t too many of), there are an increasing number of small amateurs who recognize that dressage is easier on a mount that is proportionate.

5 Likes

If he does look like he can be a good dressage pony, you may want to give him some basics in driving to see if he would make a nice CDE pony. That will expand your market considerably…

(assuming he stays under 148 cm)

4 Likes

Thanks so much for your input!

Super informative! Thanks so much