Unlimited access >

Pony studs that cross well on horse mares for pony hunters?

Asking for a friend:

Anyone know of a small stud proven to produce pony hunter offspring from WB mares?

Mare is a proven hunter and ~16.2h. Goal is a competitive division pony to show on the line as a youngster. Quality mare, would esp like to keep the hunter movement and have a child-friendly brain.

Preference to registered welsh studs. Not excluding crossbreds from consideration, but would be wary of height in the pedigree. Looks like last years top sires were mostly medium/larges.

(ps: friend is aware and accepting of the risk of a hony. she’ll be picky about ensuring a stud is a good match, im just here to help make a list)

I’m no expert on ponies but I was admiring one of the Orchard Hill pony stallions at YHS finals and I believe they have a couple of cute small ponies on their stallion roster.

1 Like

Orchard Hills Ponies. She is very knowledgeable about which of her stallions cross best with which type of mares. I have one that was bred by her in my barn and he is to die for. Super personable, great mover, great jumper, all the things you’d want.

1 Like

There’s no pony who can be proven to produce ponies from 16.2 horses.

4 Likes

Ah, dang. We were hoping maybe an itty bitty welshie guy may have had luck on some taller mares. I knew a cute large pony that came from a 16.1h dam, but he may have been a fluke😅

What are the heights like behind the mare? Is SHE the fluke and taller than genetics said she should be? If not, then no, you MIGHT get a pony foal, but the odds are greatly against you.

1 Like

The only shot you would have is a small sec A like 11.2 that had small sec As in the pedigree but even that would be a risk. Also, if it’s a first foal, you might get lucky. If you are willing to keep forever if it doesn’t work out, then why not?

1 Like

Contact Cheryl Maye, Maye Show Ponies. https://www.mayeshowponies.com