Unlimited access >

Priced out of the sport?

Honestly, I haven’t competed in a recognized horse trials since 2012. But I’ve kept my hand in the sport, mostly as a groom/emotional support person for my sister who competes regularly. It just seems more and more that I’ve become priced out. I’ve tried to make my re-entry numerous times and between the rising prices of decent horses, ulcer treatments, custom saddles, and the expense of training and competing, I don’t think my household income is going very far…and we make good money.

I am very discouraged, to be honest. How do you compete in this sport if you weren’t born wealthy? Or if you don’t work in the industry? I know when I worked as a barn manager it was easier because I had more access to good horseflesh (through free leases, etc) and I didn’t have to pay board or training fees. But as a working amateur with a mortgage to pay for and retirement to fund…I just don’t see how it’s possible.

Any inspiring stories out there of those who are making it work? Maybe it’s just my area, too. It just seems like everything is 10x more expensive than it was when I was competing.

5 Likes

How much of it is the desire to compete and how much is the desire to have fun on X-C? While supporting my kid eventing, I’ve found that I get just as much satisfaction by going XC schooling as I did when competing. Throw in a couple of hunter paces and an unrecognized event or two, and my competitive needs are met. I’m also still riding in my dressage saddle from about 1985 (the jumping saddle is much newer).

17 Likes

For sure. I have basically the same story/background as you and I feel the same. I do not feel that I have the disposable income to comfortably support keeping a horse, much less compete regularly.