Unlimited access >

Professional Rider: Horse Show Fees

I’ve been riding for over 20 years, but just recently got back into training and teaching. After taking a 5 year break from riding, I’m not sure what professional riding fees look like at shows.
Currently I charge $30/ride, but I’m not sure what is the standard rate for shows are. Because I also work a full-time job, and will have to miss work to go to the shows, as much as I want to be nice and charge minimal amounts, I have to take that into consideration. Any suggestions???

I think a lot depends on what your current experience and results are as well as the level of shows you are talking about.

In my last 5 years of riding I competed internationally with Eddie Macken; in my last season I was put on the bill for the 2016 Olympics. At that point, I decided that before I got more serious with riding I wanted to get a degree. So that’s where my 5 year break came from. Before Eddie, I rode with many other well known trainers, and even broke horses for the race-track, and took on ‘problem’ horses for training. The next show I am supposed to compete in is Regionals for the Arabian community. But generally speaking I compete at A circuit shows. Schooling shows I usually just charge my base fee because it’s not usually as involved.

Owners and other trainers will typically price you based on your current results at the level they are seeking a rider for. The resume is fine but does not ride the horse and there are lots of riders looking for paying rides with good credentials. Good, recent results not so much. Venture a guess the range falls between 25-100+ with possible % of prize money if agreed to before hand.

No idea what the going rate in Arabian shows on the Regional level would be. Need to discuss that with your potential client/trainer.

Suspect you’d need multiple rides to equal your expenses plus what you’d make at your regular job on the missed work day(s).