Unlimited access >

Putting the trailer before the horse?

Hey COTH,

I’ve been a lurker, but not a poster until now. I’m a long time lesson student and leaser, but I’ve been working my post-college job for a few years now and I’m as close to buying a horse as I’ve ever been. Current plan is within the next 4-6 months barring no unexpected expenses.
The question is, do I want to buy a trailer before I buy a horse? And if so, should I buy something halfway decent?

My pros/cons list would be…

Pros:

• If I buy the trailer first, I’m willing to put miles on the the rig to pick up a horse I buy. I’m really shopping most anywhere in the lower 48/nearish to us in CA - so we’d save on shipping. I was reading it’s ~$1 per loaded mile to ship a horse .
  • I’d also have the freedom to lesson as needed. I don’t want to pay low/mid 5s for a horse, but then have no freedom to train on cows. We only have a flag at home and I’m new to the herdwork aspect. I can catch a ride with other boarders to shows and potentially practices if they attend. It’s historically only been shows.

If I do buy a trailer, do I get a safe, but cheap steel trailer and sell soon? Or just a nicer aluminum 2 horse with tack that I would keep for the foreseeable future? Storing the trailer isn’t a concern.

Cons:

• Most obvious, it sets my horse savings budget back a few months. How long really depends on how far below horse budget or above trailer budget I go. If I buy a cheap trailer to compromise, I have the hassle of buying and selling relatively soon.
  • We have an F150, and w the current truck market, that won’t be updated within a few years. So we’d be limited to a smaller trailer anyways. Whatever I buy wouldn’t be a forever trailer.
  • The horse and trailer market are hot… is it sensible to pay high for both at the same time?

I’m kind of leaning towards whatever the trailer market offers. Only buy if I find a deal I can’t pass.
Any thoughts, concerns, or experiences?
Thank you!