Unlimited access >

Question about Boarding Contracts - Liability

These are the things I think about when I’m idle. Two boarding contracts I read recently have a clause that states (paraphrasing) the barn is not responsible for any injury or accident that involves your horse which may result in death or permanent unsoundness.

What happens if it’s an accident or injury caused by barn negligence? Say a barn worker forgot to close a gate and the horse ran out on the highway and got killed or injured, injured or killed a motorist, totaled the car, etc. etc. Is the horse owner still liable? Who pays the injured party?

What I was told is that you can not waiver away gross negligence.

Disclaimer - I am not a lawyer. I am not related to a lawyer. I have no ties to a lawyer. I have not stayed at a holiday in express. And most importantly, I have never even played a lawyer.

3 Likes

I am not an equine lawyer, but I do know it’s extremely difficult to prove gross negligence in a court. Most often the owner of the horse is liable for any damages their animal may cause, even if the horse was loose due to negligence. I carry insurance on my horses, and it’s phenomenal money spent.

2 Likes

Every bit of this. Including the disclaimer. :slight_smile:

The real question is ‘negligence’ (protected by statute in most states these days) vs. ‘gross negligence’ (can sue) - what’s the dividing line?

As I understand it (no legal training but some business experience), if there is a situation where any damn fool would have known that doing X means Y Harm was very likely to happen, even almost certainly going to happen, and sure enough that harm does happen, that’s gross negligence. Deliberately causing harm can also fall under gross negligence. That’s how I understand it.

Convincing a judge or arbiter that gross negligence occurred is another story. There is never a certain outcome.