Recovering from a flip

I’m a brand new COTHer and I think this is the forum I need. :slight_smile:

I’m recovering from a pretty good accident - my girl flipped over on me and got me my first ambulance ride. A fractured hip, some good damage to the back and my pelvic area muscles, but overall a pretty good outcome, considering. This happened about six weeks ago.

I was a lifelong rider but I just came back last fall after ten years off, after another rearing horse sent me to the hospital. I started riding again in the fall of 09, bought my girl early this year and the accident was 4/15. Now I am really struggling.

My mare also hurt herself in the accident - she’s got some damage to the meniscus in the left hind and the prognosis isn’t great right now. She’s also got an old suspensory injury in the left fore we are just finding out about. She’s five this week.

I am struggling; I am afraid of her and she knows it. I flinch with every unexpected move. I don’t think she is coming back from this, and even if she does I am not sure I can ride her. With her injury, I don’t know what to do with her; I don’t want her to end up in a bad place, but I live in an urban area and can’t afford to keep her as a pet and continue to ride myself. She’s a gorgeous little appendix mare, so I am trying to find a broodmare home for her right now, but even that is tough.

Anyway I’ve written a novel already without much point. I guess I am curious - how do you get over the fear? How do you rehome a horse safely so you don’t feel badly about their outcome? How do you decide if the universe is just trying to send you a message? Sorry for the maudlin tone; I am just really having a hard time. Thanks for listening.

That’s a whole lot to answer, and I won’t pretend to have all of them.