Unlimited access >

Reported as violating amateur status

I just got notice that someone reported me as being a coach of a local show team and therefore violating amateur status. I only just joined usef last week with the goal of doing my first low adult hunter class in November! I taught through college, but not since then… I’m a barn manager/groom now - no riding/teaching/training at all, just stalls/turn out/holding for the farrier kind of stuff. Definitely an amateur!

Just looking for information on how the process goes? I’m definitely an amateur, but will I be suspended until the accusation is cleared? Really gives me a very sour taste of USEF and I’m wishing I hadn’t bothered to pay all that money to join usef & ushja & get my horse registered!

Well first, you need to figure out why they thought you were the coach of the local show team. Is there something misleading on social media or on the website? Do you have the same name as another trainer?

What’s your association with the show team? Is there any way it can be misconstrued as coaching?

No association with any show team at all! I haven’t been part of a show team since high school… I show by myself - all my boarders are eventers and I do hunters, I train with an eventer. Absolutely no idea how anyone got the idea I coach a show team!

I work as jump crew at shows the landowner runs on the farm and sometimes share posts about their shows on social media… My only guess is that someone thought that meant I ran a show team there? But we don’t have a show team on the farm, I haven’t been part of a team since high school… I’m honestly very baffled!

I do have a pretty common name, so it’s entirely possible someone got me mixed up with someone else. In which case that should be easy to straighten out?