Unlimited access >

Restoring rusting/chipping stall bars and gates?

Hi, I’m working on fixing up our cute four stall barn to bring horses home for the first time. Some of the stall bars and gates with yokes are rusting and chipping paint. Does anyone recommend particular products to restore them? I’m envisioning sanding them down somehow and then painting them with Rustoleum black spray paint and a clear acrylic spray paint on top? Does that sound correct to anyone else who has done this before? Do I need a certain style power sander to get between the bars? I am new to this so I appreciate any advice and recommendations! This photo shows the current state they are in.

We use this kind on a battery run grinder:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DIABLO-4-1-2-in-40-Grit-Steel-Demon-Corner-Edge-Grinding-and-Polishing-Flap-Disc-with-Type-29-Conical-Design-DCC045040N01F/202830906

We use those to clean dirty/rusty/painted metals before welding.

There are all kinds out there, wire ones, fabric ones, diamond, any of them would work.
Some are more aggressive, some less, just be sure to wear googles and face mask.

We use plain metal paint like Krylon or such.
Many of those paints today are made to only need one coat, no primer or other protection after painting.

We have used them on old metal barn chairs and they looked fine for long time.

1 Like

Agree with everything Bluey said.

I’ve used both spray and brush type metal paint. Tractor paint is tough if you have a farm store nearby. I’ve never coated the paint with anything.

Also - wear gloves. My hands show what happens if you don’t :slight_smile:

1 Like

Around here there is a guy who advertises “dustless blasting” … well, apparently he has dropped the ‘dustless’ bit, I always wondered how that worked anyway! But here, watch some videos and see if there is anyone near you who can do this: https://www.facebook.com/ChattahoocheeBlasting