Unlimited access >

Rethinking the USDF Medals

He makes some interesting points.

2 Likes

Hmm. I agree with a lot of his points but the proposed solution seems both inadequate (in ways he points out and probably some others) and over the top:

Does producing a horse from 1st or 2nd Level to GP really make someone a less capable FEI-level trainer than producing the horse from scratch? What about producing an imported 5-year-old to GP?

What incentives might this create for someone to keep struggling along with a horse who would be a better match for another rider, just because they donā€™t want to lose their investment and the new rider couldnā€™t benefit from it (at least with respect to these new medals)? How would it impact riders on a lower budget to have to re-earn their Bronze scores with each new horse?

I also donā€™t think earning these proposed new medals really proves someone is a competent FEI trainer. Iā€™ll use myself as an example. I am an amateur with my Bronze, Silver, and Gold. My parents bought the horse I earned my medals on for me when he was 4. It took us until he was 17 to get up to GP due to many soundness issues and it being the first time for both of us (I had done a little 3rd Level with my previous horse), but we got there together! Just the way Jeremy Steinberg wants, right?

Well yes, except I was in no way qualified to produce a horse to those levels, and am still not (though Iā€™m closer now than I was then). During the times the horse was sound, I took weekly lessons with an excellent, experienced FEI trainer. While I was out of state for my freshman year of college, she kept him in training and started flying changes. The majority of my riding time and almost all of my showing was independent, but the successful outcome still reflected her expertise at least as much as my blood, sweat, tears, and relatively middling skill.