Returning to riding after neck break

Hi. I wanted to find people with the experience of returning to riding after a broken neck. I was wondering how long after your recovery you were able to get back to it.

I completely crushed my C1, and fractured my C2 in multiple places 8 weeks ago in a riding accident. My horse spooked and bolted and at the end of it was slammed face first into a tree. I did not have surgery, I have been in an Aspen collar. I was told they have no idea how I am not paralyzed. I have never stopped having feeling in my arms and legs. I am so thankful, but as a horse person (only you guys can understand) Im anxious to get back on! I am 29 years old and in fantastic shape. I am a dance teacher and have been back teaching now for weeks. I can’t move very fast or side to side, but Im holding my own. I am not a very patient person when it comes to physical limitations. I was always raised to suck it up so this serious injury has been hard for me. I go tomorrow to rexray and find out when I get the brace off. I was told there is a chance I will get it off at 8 weeks as I have been rapidly healing.

So my question is, once you were healed how long before you were able to ride again? I am not trying to rush it, just curious. I know Im lucky and should take it slow.

Thanks so much for any advice!

Well when I broke my back T 10/11 and I did end up paralyzed, my Dr. told me to wait for 1 year. Granted I had surgery and rods put into my back but what they said was that it takes a good year for the swelling etc to go down and to completly heal. So 1 year to the date I was back on a horse, I know that it seems like forever (I was 24 when I had the injury). So what I would do if I were you is talk to your Dr. and find out what they recommend. You really don’t want to risk it until it is really healed and strong. It isn’t the riding that is the problem it is usually the falling that would hurt it.

I have sense taken up driving:-)
Diane