Unlimited access >

Returning to riding as an adult and fear is holding me back - any suggestions?

Hi guys!

I have a fairly serious problem and am hoping that some of you might have insight or advice to offer. I had riding lessons when I was a child, but when you’re a kid you don’t really realize the danger of situations. I’m returning to riding now that I am an adult, and my perception of horses is a lot different. I love them and really, really want to be around them (to a degree that just not being around them isn’t an option), and I have volunteered at stables, but there are still a lot of situations that I’m very fearful in.

My underlying worry is that I will get severely injured. If anything, I’m more nervous on the ground than I am in the saddle. I know a lot of experienced riders who have had serious injuries, and seeing as I’m a novice, I’m even more likely to get hurt than they are. I think knowing these people has made me feel kind of like serious injury is inevitable, that it’s a matter of when, not if, and I’m struggling to grapple with the fact that I, too, will probably get hurt at some point, or at least fall out of the saddle.

Being in groups of horses who are not under saddle or on a lead rope gets me nervous because I’m a bit afraid of getting caught in a squabble, and being in a stall with a horse (which I have gotten better about) makes me worry about getting cornered and kicked. I’ve never actually had an incident even close to that happening with the latter concern, and all of the horses I’ve interacted with have moved to the side when I asked them to.

Then there’s the issue of posting. I’m still learning and still getting my balance, and I’m afraid I’m going to keel forward. I’m working out and doing yoga to improve my core strength and balance to make that less likely and I do wear a helmet, but I’m still worried about it.