Returning to the Forum!

Hello everyone!

It has been a LONG time since I posted on here! I used to post all the time in the weeks and months following my TBI but I have not posted in so, so long! I thought I would pop in and say hello to everyone and reassure you all that I have not died.

Since I last posted, a lot has happened! I’ve made huge progress in my rehab, I graduated from OSU (FINALLY), and I got married! So, in order, here they are:

Rehab: I think the best part of all my rehab is that I am finally able to manage my life on my own, for the most part. I still use an entire national forest’s worth of sticky notes every year to compensate for short-term memory issues, my language and problem-solving will never be the same, and I still have physical limitations like mild hemiparesis and fatigue issues, and then of course epilepsy, but I am learning how to live with all of those. This summer and fall has actually been the worst period for me so far as my seizures go, but I have the world’s most amazing husband to help me deal with those issues and we are working that all out as best we can. Over the past 18 months, I’ve run two marathons and two triathlons, adventured all over the Great Northwest doing things like rock climbing, kayaking, mountaineering, backpacking, and generally adventuring and I plan on doing a lot more! I haven’t really gotten back into serious riding again, but that has been limited by school and finances as much as my health. Of course, the irony of all this is that I write this as I sit/lay/die here with a herniated disc that happened this morning from issues from my fall, but hopefully that will heal soon.