Returning to the saddle following ACL surgery....

Hi fellow COTHers,
I had an ACL reconstruction using a hamstring graft just over 3 weeks ago. I sustained the original injury in March but my OS and PT decided I could try riding again and so I finished out the season before I had the surgery. I did a lot of ‘prehab’ so was quite fit before the surgery. I’m now watching my muscles turn to mush and it’s quite depressing! I know that return to sport following an ACL reconstruction is typically 6 months. However, riding isn’t as involved as say football or soccer so I was just curious to hear your stories. I’m a professional so I’m very interested in returning in a timely fashion, however I do realize I need my knee to work for the rest of my life so if I have to be out of the saddle for 6 months, so be it. I’m certainly not interested in going through this again!!!

Go for it. I had 1/2 my meniscus removed, have no intact PCL left, and a chronic ACL tear. I rode a week after surgery - against Dr. advice, but we are horsepeople, we just have to ride. Anyway, knee is fine, if it bothered me after riding I took Advil and was good to go the next day. Knee nevered bothered me while riding. Go for it.

A different opinion…

True, Six months is generally reserved for full cutting/pivoting/contact sports… however, there are lots of good techniques to keep you in reasonable condition and minimize the loss of “riding muscles.”

What is odd though…you should be on a post rehab program which should at least keep SOME degree of muscle tone…

A loss of physical size would be completely normal and expected at 3 weeks post surgery! Now if you were three months out…different story.

In terms of returning to riding, If you surgeon and rehab professional has done alot of riders, they should have a protocol (even unwritten) for you to follow…ie sitting in the saddle, no stirrup work starts “X” , walk without stirrups starts “X”, and so on.