Unlimited access >

RID Stallions

I have recently been starting to plan for potentially breeding my own baby. This will hopefully be a do it all low levent eventer + that I will have until my golden years. I have a herd of ottbs and other rescues and am new to this breeding stuff. My heart is telling me to go the path of a RID cross…Some sort of ISH. I am not familiar enough with any of these stallions and I should say I do not know who my broodmare is yet (possibly tb, possibly dutch…I will really base it on the stallion and fortunately I have some options as im arranging a custom breeding) So what reccomendations are out there around RID stallions? Steeped in Luck looks lovely, and a couple others have caught my eye. Opinions?

Oh, I think you will receive some enthusiastic replies to your post! Those who have experience with Irish Draughts and their crosses are a loyal group! I am relatively new to the breed and others will have more sage advice about stallions but I can share this. We have two young Irish Draught geldings. One by Mountain Pearl and the second by Lionwood Kinsale’s Lad. Amazing temperament, great movement, amateur friendly, people loving, and trainable. Sound, great feet. Kind, curious, smart. Can’t say enough good things! Many great RID stallions in the US. Good luck with your search!

Bridon Beale Street aka Liam

http://www.lonetreefarm.net/stallions.htm

Nice page showing how he crosses on various mares:

http://www.lonetreefarm.net/Liam’s%20babies.htm

There are so many nice RID stallions. My wonderful 10 yr old RID is by Glenlara. My daughter has a terrific, sweet, 5 year old IDSH who is by Glenda Player/Playland Farm’s PL Diamond Hill. He has been such an easy going, talented, youngster. We know several of Diamond’s offspring who are all nice, easy going and talented. Glenda initially bred Diamond to a number of Arabian mares. Now, she is also breeding to warmbloods and others, as the Arabians often produced offspring who are a bit small.