Unlimited access >

Ride Times

I rode Training 3 and First 1 in a schooling show recently, and I was surprised that my first level test was scheduled before my training level test. Really didn’t matter, I’m just trying to get my horse used to being out and about again, but I had assumed the lower level test would be scheduled prior to a higher level test. I’m new to dressage shows, is that normally the case, or not necessarily?

1 Like

There are many things that are considered when scheduling rides at a dressage show and it’s not usual that classes are run “in order” in my experience.

Things like riders showing multiple horses, judge schedule if a judge is only working half a day, the numbers of rides, and frankly any favors the scheduler provides to riders.

3 Likes

Yes. it is quite common to have the order of the tests pretty much random order. I am scoring at recognized show today, and the very first ride is Grand Prix.

4 Likes

I find that the schooling shows, in particular, are very accommodating. If it does or should make a difference to you, next time just include a note for the secretary. They do have a lot to juggle; so, the out of order sequence probably was the result of someone else having specific needs. For years I would show multiple horses and have them reach out to me to see if I would mind if they scheduled things in a certain way which I found very thoughtful. It’s also not uncommon to have some of the higher levels first thing in the day in order to get the longer (and harder) tests out of the way before the heat of the day.

3 Likes

Was there more than one ring? Or more than one judge? Multiple rings often have different levels running in different rings, and multiple judges are often split between levels so the more experienced judge gets the higher levels (of those offered).