Unlimited access >

Riding after severe lumbar disk hernia?

Hey folks, haven’t posted in ages but I’m struggling with my current medical condition and thought I’d come here for some hope and wisdom. I’m a young professional, mostly teach vs having client horses but I do have my own young horse (6yrs old, was schooling 4th/PSG this fall).

I took three weeks off barn work (still riding) in November after a meniscus surgery only to severely herniate my L4-L5 disk just sitting on my couch. 6 weeks later after PT, rest, steroids, and chiro have done nothing I saw my MRI yesterday. I’ve been lucky that most of my struggle is weakness and tingling in my right foot, rather than the pain I had at onset but I’ve sat on my horse twice since this started, the first time a few weeks ago was excruciating if I did anything but walk. A few days ago walking was fine and it was able to trot and canter so a big improvement pain wise but I’m so floppy from the weakness that I could barely do anything anyway.

Based on my MRI I’m looking at surgery. It isn’t just the typical bubble in my spinal canal but more like a gross dribble of toothpaste almost down to my L5-S1 disk (before the mri they thought it was that disk that was the issue). I’m stuck in the awful place of not knowing if I can go back to barn work or if I should go to my backup plan of getting my masters/phD and working a “real” job and riding/teaching on the side.

Experiences? Advice?

I feel for you OP.