Unlimited access >

Riding in the highlands of Scotland or Ireland

looking for a group that has week long rides through the highlands - its in my bucket list. suggestions please!

These people do a number of trips.
I’ve no personal experience of them but tripadvisor gives them a 4.5 star rating:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g190816-d4106310-Reviews-or40-Highlands_Unbridled_Trail_Riding_Trekking_Centre-Aboyne_Aberdeenshire_Scotla.html

Thank you!

1 Like

Equitours has been in business a looong time and have destinations worldwide including Ireland. I have used them to book riding trips internationally and highly recommend them. You can speak to a ride consultant who has done the ride you’re interested in. Based on your conversation, they will guide you to a trip they think best suits your interests and experience vs. choosing a trip off a description.

Great! Thank you!

Don’t go in mid-to-late summer. The Highlands are a hole of midgey death, and you will regret your life choices. Especially in the big inland glens near the West Coast. Spring, early summer (like early June), and September/October are the best times.

3 Likes

:laughing:. Thank you for the valuable advice!

There is nothing quite like the experience of the air itself crawling, your tent, backpack, hand, bike, etc. turning black, and you are wondering if the midges outnumber the air molecules.

Or in the words of my brother, after he crawled out of our tent on Skye for a pee, “Jesus f&ckin Christ! Motherf&cker!! I am never f&cking camping in Scotland again!!!” (and he hasn’t).

“He’ll have found some midges then,” I said to myself.

He lives in Sub-Saharan Africa now and quite happily camps with lions, elephants, and hyenas.

You pray for wind. They can’t fly in more than 5mph of wind. Unfortunately, when your prayers get answered, it’s 50mph gusts at ground level, usually with horizontal rain, and that brings a different set of problems.