Unlimited access >

Riding up to the altar

So I’ve been racking my brain for several months now trying to figure this out.

Soon-to-be DH and I are getting married in less than a month :eek: and I am riding my little mare up to the altar. It’s outside in Texas, so the weather is hopefully going to be decent. The rain plan is to have it inside the barn.

My question is: Does anyone have any ideas for a portable hitching post-type thing?

At first we were going to actually dig holes and install posts…but that’s a little too much work at this point. So far I’ve come up with putting a bale of hay in front of them (my dad’s horse and my mare). I think they’d be fine, but my mare is the curious type so my only concern is that she would want to go visit with the people in the front row.

Ideas? Suggestions? Help please?! :slight_smile:

Easy peasy. Instead of a ring-bearer, you have a horse-holder! Since horses seem calm and easy going go ahead with the hay bale and designate a tween/teen* horse loving kid as livestock guardian. Said kid can stand on the opposite side of the horses if you want him/her more out of the way or between them or some such.

Plus it would be a great way to involve another friend/relative in the wedding that isn’t already bridesmaid/groomsmen (if you’re having those). For example my bro was not in the wedding party but he was the Music Jockey during the ceremonies and cued up the right song for general seating, aisle walking, and here comes the briding.

*Obviously an adult would work as well.

I have no idea how I could have missed that haha

I have a ton of horsey friends that will be there, so maybe I’ll ask one of them.

Thanks!

My friend rode up to the ceremony side saddle in a dressage saddle. She had her father leading the horse, and two people on each side.

Dad helped her down, and the helpers walked horse back to the barn.

I would go with something similar. Nothing more distracting than a horse pawing, or worse, getting tangled up!