Roll call...

Let’s all introduce ourselves and any program that we may work with. I’ll go first…

I am an occupational therapist and work at NARHA Premiere Accredited Somerset Hills Handicapped Riding Center in NJ. We offer adaptive/therapeutic riding, equine assisted speech, occupational and physical therapy (hippotherapy), school programs, equine assisted psychotherapy, therapeutic driving and seasonal vaulting. I work with NARHA and AHA.

It’s great to have a forum that focuses on riding skills for those with disabilities and the challenges that riders with special needs face.

Well, I have fibromylagia and am 90% healed from chipping my spine in a silly fall. I also worked as a volunteer at two of the local handicapped riding centers, both as a side walker/warm body and also as a more hands on instructor for high functioning riders. My TB did a stint as a therapuetic mount for riders who were learning to canter and do small cross rails. I also have experience in driving that I want to share with the paraquestian community if possible.

My name is Ellie, I have cerebal palsy, that effects primarily my left side. I used to do low level hunters up to 2’6. I am currently riding dressage and classified as a Grade III para FEI rider. I just started riding dressage and spent my first season doing training level. My plan is to do the grade III novice test and first level dressage next year.

Hello everyone!

I have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome , Fibromyalgia, and Pernicious Anemia.

These days I’m taking dressage lessons on my Anglo-Trakehner mare, but I have also done hunters, jumpers, eventing, driving and a whole lot of trail riding in the past.

I’m not the competitive type, so I’m not planning on showing much, though I am going to try to haul my youngster out for some exposure next season. And if I could get some clinics in, that’d be great, too.