Unlimited access >

Sales ads & social media presence

I’d love to see some examples of good sales ads that you have either seen or written!

I am just getting started with my breeding adventures. Last year was my first year having foals, both of which were colts (of course!), both of which I sold to friends at a massive loss. Now, I know almost all foal sales are losses, but this was excessive lol. I was okay with it because I knew they would be going to great homes.

Both of these friends approached me about the colts, so I didn’t need to do any advertising. But this year, I have 4 coming, and I know I need to sell at least 1, possibly 2 or 3. Or maybe even all 4 if I get all colts again! :crazy_face:

I know that a lot of sales happen through word of mouth, and knowing someone who knows someone, but unfortunately my network does not go very deep. (It used to, but had a bad trainer “break up” - I am sure you all know how that goes.) A lot of people I’ve spoken with about this in the past have stressed the importance of having a strong social media presence… I used to post frequently, but I never got any traction. My SO still posts regularly on our Instagram, but we don’t have nearly as many followers or people interacting with our content as I had expected or hoped. The photos we post are borderline professional quality (said SO used to be something of a social media influencer, so knows how all of that works).

So all this is to say - how do you get those babies out the door? How do you get folks to pay attention to what you have to offer? Any tips/tricks to offer on advertising, sales, etc?

If you feel comfortable including breed, discipline, and especially the price range you’re selling in, that would be fantastic.

I would suggest posting videos on Youtube that you can link to which can help avoid the FB ban on animal sales a avoid trying to load video everywhere