Unlimited access >

Same old story.. OTTB with DDFT Tear. What's your experience? Best practices?

Searching and searching and I can’t find any personal experience type answers to the questions I have.

TL;DR –
We are 90 days into rehabbing 4mm tear. Very conservative with stall rest + hand walking, gradually increasing walking time every week. She is turned out in a small paddock now. I have some questions at the bottom of the post…

I bought a 3 year old off the track with a DDFT strain. She was two months into recovery and needed some more rest, but was at the limited turnout stage of recovery. Her prognosis was excellent and I have some experience with tendon injuries, so I gave it a shot. She’s lovely and well built, with a sweet, sane disposition. I played it safe and just hand walked her for two weeks and did an hour of supervised turnout sporadically (very cautiously - with a wee bit of ace at first!). When she had shown me that she could handle turnout, I let her have a day out in the small paddock attached to the barn, which was on an incline (stupid me). Lo and behold, she comes back in hobbling lame, inflamed, and hot. This time a 4mm tear (ultrasound). Ice every few hours. Bute. Stall rest for a week, then hand walking with weekly increases of duration by 5 minutes.

The vet’s prognosis is good, and I bug him with questions constantly. We got up to 45 minutes of walking every day and then started having problems with her stocking up behind probably due to compensation, so I started putting her in a round pen for an hour at a time to see how she’d do. After a couple weeks of that, today was the first time she had unsupervised turnout.

I’m looking for any stories about horses in any kind of similar situation. Second injury to the tendon OR 4mm tear in the DDFT.

Do you boot your horse for turnout during recovery? (I was thinking maybe a brushing boot.)

Did your horse experience some heat/inflammation during introducing turnout and how did you handle it?