Unlimited access >

San Diego COTHers: suggestions on areas to live

Hi there! So with the coming year, there is a good chance that I will be moving down to San Diego. I’ve only visited once and grew up in the Sacramento area so I have no knowledge of good places to look for housing.

I’ve seen the threads for barns and have started to do my research. But I was hoping to get some suggestions on safe/moderately nice places to look for housing. My husbands new job will be in the northern part of the city, off Mira Mesa so ideally we would be looking at a reasonable commute from there.

Thanks in advance for suggestions!

You’ll be close to lots of reasonable housing (as far as San Diego can ever be reasonable) - Rancho Penasquitos would be a good place to start. Some parts aren’t so great but there’s definitely good neighborhoods within the 92129 zip code. A little east of the I-15 you have Carmel Mtn area and Poway. 92131 and 92064. Plenty of places to board depending on what discipline you do. There are options for trail riding, too. Canyonside Stables is next to the Penasquitos Preserve.

Hi, there.
I live just north of Mira Mesa, commute to the coast (Torrey Pines/UCSD) and board in Del Mar. DH commutes to Kearny Mesa. Traffic isn’t too bad if you don’t mind leaving by 7-7:15. After that it gets substantially worse.

Are you looking to buy or rent? There are lots of options in Mira Mesa over a pretty wide price range depending on renting/buying and condo/apt vs house, and location/condition. If you want, I can pm the names of some realtors I know in the area. In general, prices go down if you go north or inland.

Depending on your riding discipline and goals, there are a number of places that can be readily reached from Mira Mesa. A little more about your horse needs would help with recommendations in that area. Carmel Valley/Del Mar/Lakeside/Poway are all possible.