Unlimited access >

Searching for someplace that will foal out a mare w/ possible complications in SC

I got a mare that I was not at all expecting to be pregnant (I have a thread about the drama of figuring out if she was pregnant on here) and now am seeking assistance with foaling. I have no experience with foals and want to assure everything is as safe as possible. The mare, Ivy, is about a month away from foaling and has placentitis. The foal may be breach as well. I will be calling the vet for recommendations (along with a bunch of other questions I came up with after I left the clinic on Friday), but I wanted to see if anyone had recommendations for someone or a farm with experience that would foal out a mare! I am in upstate SC and would like someplace in the area so I can be involved to some extent of course.

I know people who have sent mares to vet clinics to foal.

[QUOTE=Peggy;8732714]
I know people who have sent mares to vet clinics to foal.[/QUOTE]

Yes, may end up doing that. In the event that the vet thinks we can do it safely without that, I think it’d be better for her to be at a farm that she can stay at for a few weeks instead of a few days. Also will be looking into a teaching hospital as an option, though I have not found anything online about UGAs services and that would be the nearest school.

Check out the foaling places carefully. It isn’t helpful to have the mare at the vet’s if they don’t have continuous monitoring and a vet there at all times. If you might agree to a surgical delivery in an emergency, make sure they can do it. We know people who had their mare at a vet’s clinic. The mare went into labor early and they then had to go to a surgical facility with a newborn intensive care unit for a few days.

Maybe look for TB or Stbd breeders who are experienced in foaling out mares?

My barn foals out several outside mares, mostly standardbreds, each spring, but I don’t think you want to haul her to Indiana.:frowning: