Unlimited access >

SECRET SANTA Article in COTH - jbcalder@chronofhorse.com

Hi everyone, my name is Jennifer Calder and I am a writer with the magazine. We are interested in doing a feature on your SS exchange for our upcoming holiday issue. I was hoping some of you had a few heartwarming stories you could share - maybe there was a poignant gift that stands out? Surprising acts of generosity (maybe not even material, but support, etc)? Any friendships that came about via the board but exist in ‘real life’? Anything funny ever happen? Or anything else you can think of that you would like to share.

Please email me at: jbcalder@chronofhorse.com

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you!
Jennifer

Bumping this up, lets keep it up there for all to read.:yes:

I don’t know if this counts, it’s just a simple story. But one year, my giftee told me she had been having a horrible month leading up to the Christmas holidays, and the SS package that arrived in the mail was just the thing she needed to cheer her up. To me, that is the spirit of the holidays - and I was so glad I could be a part of making her holiday a good one.

Secret Santa is a great spirit to be a part of! I have done it the last two years but just didn’t have the money this year with some large vet bills. It makes me sad to get on the forums and see the SS thread when I know how much they are all having fun! It always makes me feel like a kid again and this year, this kid feels left out!

Last year was my first year, and I am officially hooked! I joined on a whim, as I had never heard of the COTH SS until the thread was posted. I had a blast picking things out for my giftee. My favorite thing was a pendant with a picture of her late TB stallion, who was the sire of all of her current horses. I think it made her really happy. I was blown away by the thoughtfulness of my own SS, and still use the things I got today - including a beautiful matching royal blue halter and t/o blanket.